nomaddk.blogg.se

Solver for excel mac error
Solver for excel mac error









solver for excel mac error
  1. SOLVER FOR EXCEL MAC ERROR HOW TO
  2. SOLVER FOR EXCEL MAC ERROR FOR MAC

Marginal Risk Contribution (MRC) of each asset must be equal. The Optimization Setupīy Changing: Weights of the assets (S&P 500 and TLT)Ģ. My thought was “Huh? No way it can be that simple.” But no harm trying, I am not going to lose anything.Īlright, so what do I mean when I say “variables on the righthand side of the equation”? Let’s use an example. When I first read it, I was kind of dubious. That is until I chance upon a forum where someone mentioned that MAC Solver does not handle constraints well if you put variables on the righthand side of the equation. If the issue persists, disable or uninstall the problematic add-ins, or edit your Excel path.

SOLVER FOR EXCEL MAC ERROR FOR MAC

It seems like a lost cause unless I code up my own “Solver”. Hidden module errors in Excel usually indicate your add-ins are outdated or incompatible with your Excel for Mac version. It is inconceivable that such an issue remains after so many years! And the best part is that there don’t seem to be any viable solution out there. But some of my students were using the latest Excel 2019 version. Most of the complaints appear to come from users of Excel 2016. It seems like many other MAC users experience various problems using Solver. If it happens to all the MAC users in my class, then this is definitely not an isolated case. So the verdict then? I don’t have the SLIGHTEST CLUE why it didn’t work! And a random thought crossed my mind: “Maybe Microsoft is out to screw Apple users?”Īfter the course end, I call forth the POWER of GOOGLE to see if others encountered the same issue. But all of them were following my instructions correctly. So I ended up spending the next 10 minutes troubleshooting with a few of them to see what went wrong. It came up with a sub-par solution that violates the constraints I set. I tried it on both Mac Excel 16.18 and 16.19, there is an issue with the newer Mac Excel update from 16.18, just delete only excel 16.18 or 16.19 and download the office package revision 16. Somehow, their Solver is not giving them the correct solution. MAC Excel Solver Unable to Find The Solutionīut as it turns out, my students running on MAC laptops cannot get the same results that I did. Sounds like all grounds covered? Or at least that is what I thought. Prior to this, I made sure it works on my PC, my wife’s MS Surface, my friend’s Windows-based laptop and MAC Book.

SOLVER FOR EXCEL MAC ERROR HOW TO

Well, I was illustrating how to use Microsoft Excel and Solver to perform a simple portfolio optimization comprising 2 assets. Everything went as planned until I was on the topic of portfolio optimization.

solver for excel mac error

I just recently delivered a course on quantitative techniques to investing.











Solver for excel mac error